Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

My MixTex Won’t Let my Fro be Great

1 Comment

I have mixed textures. That means there are multiple hair types on my head. Mine come in distinct swaths. I have even named them, like warring lands in a fantasy kingdom.

Curl pattern, strand width, hair density, length and shrinkage—all different all across my head. So if I wash and leave my hair to air dry, with no manipulation, I end up with a misshapen mane, bushy on top, compact underneath, and dangly at the bottom. Over the years, I’ve had to develop techniques specifically geared towards blending my textures into styles, but the one hairstyle that I couldn’t wait to rock when I went natural is the one style my mixTex won’t let be great.

I expected a stately fro to spring forth (h/t Jouelzy), and in the beginning I got my life with that TWA. Then my hair grew out and expectations ran up against reality. Some of my hair couldn’t shrink up enough to get in shape and some of it couldn’t be stretched enough without losing volume. It would take a lot more doing to achieve this ‘do.

Once I did, I had to ask myself if it was worth it, the excessive manipulation, the dryness, and the more involved nighttime and morning routines. Forcing my hair to do what it didn’t want to, and causing unnecessary damage in the process, sounded a bit too much like the very thing I was trying to get away from by going natural.

But it looked cute, tho!

headband-puff-1024x1015

The moral of the story is: There are some styles you will have to put in more effort than other people to achieve, and there are other styles you will have to concede your hair simply doesn’t like. Whether you drop them altogether or make a conscious choice to rock them once every blue moon is up to you.

The right answer truly is different for everyone. That’s the thing about being natural. It’s as individual and unique as your head of hair.

Bye!

You still got questions? Hit the comments.

Author: pursuitofnatural

Edin is a natural black chick in the USA who loves to laugh, write, and help others. So, she created The Pursuit of Natural, a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural

One thought on “My MixTex Won’t Let my Fro be Great

  1. Pingback: The Deceptive Pick-Out | Pursuit of Natural

Leave a Reply

