Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

Ophelia Debelia Fixes Her Scrunchy

1 Comment

Happy birthday to me! Today, I turn growner. Let’s have a tutorial to celebrate, shall we?

I wish I remember where in the community I saw a comment to the effect of “scrunchies are the only things that hold my hair, but they’ve gone out of style.”

To that I say: In-style or not, you’ll pry my scrunchies from my cold dead hands! And even then, while the rest of the herd is shambling after survivors who are clearly too fast to catch, I’ll be the one zombie “Thriller”-dancing off to the beauty supply store’s long-gone-out-of-business sale.

But about my scrunchies. For me, being natural has meant being crafty and creative about hair care. Sewing is a big part of that effort. (¡Gracias Mamá!)

Please remain seated. I’m aware not everyone was taught the Ancient Arts—all that measuring and cutting and pinning and threading. Good news! This tutorial requires no sewing.

Here to help demonstrate how to fix a scrunchy is Ophelia Debelia. (Professionally-lit photos? What blog have you been reading?)

ophelia

Collect the following items:

gather-items-jpg

You’ll, of course, need your sad scrunchy.

STEP 1: Rip open the seam of your scrunchy

snip-seam

Once you’ve got it open, remove the old elastic.

STEP 2: Feed your new elastic

feed-elastic

Clip the safety pin to one end of the elastic and use the pin to push through the scrunchy casing.

No, you don’t need to measure length, with numbers and junk like that. Just make sure it’s long enough to go all the way through. Then cut off the excess and knot the ends together.

no-measure

 

STEP 3: Hide the evidence…
hide-evidence-2

If you ripped open the seam more than a little, like a lot, and it is now flapping open all ugly, just glue it shut. I prefer hand-sewing it because I’ve been told many, many, many, many times by mi mamá to be neat, okay?

That’s it. Your scrunchy is back from the dead. It’s alive!

done

Bye!

(P.S.: Happy holidays and a merry new year!)

You got questions? Hit the comments section.

Author: pursuitofnatural

Edin is a natural black chick in the USA who loves to laugh, write, and help others. So, she created The Pursuit of Natural, a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural

One thought on “Ophelia Debelia Fixes Her Scrunchy

Leave a Reply

