Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

Keeping a Style & Regimen Journal

Leave a comment

First, you’ll need a notebook and a pen. I use a fine-tip felt pen, but if you don’t have a pen, eyeliner works just as well. And don’t worry if all you have is loose leaf paper. Just bobby pin the pages together so they don’t get lost. Simple!

Starting at the top of a blank sheet, write the date, time, and–okay, I’m just being foolish! You don’t need me to tell you how to keep journal. But what goes into a style & regimen journal, and why would you want to bother?

Sometimes it will seem like your natural hair has a life of its own, even though it is dead. One of the most important tasks of wearing natural hair is paying attention to how the things you do affect it, which tends to get easier the longer you’ve been in the game. When I started out, keeping a journal was a great way to keep track of my ever-evolving  techniques and styles, and why my hair didn’t look like her hair did in that one video. It’s how I figured out my hair hates glycerin.

Here are some things I kept track of:

  • Process for cleaning & conditioning hair
  • How I set my hair after that
  • When and how I detangled
  • Styles worn: installation, setting, takedown
  • Anytime I tried new things or changed my regimen
  • Any products used in all of the above
  • How long each step in my regimen took
  • What my hair looked and felt like

 

With a journal, it’s easy to spot any problem products or quickly reference successful styles and techniques. Especially if you’re busy and forgetful, a journal helps keep you on your game, reminding you when you last deep conditioned, or trimmed, or washed your hair. Yes, I have sometimes forgotten what day I washed my hair. I know I’m not the only one!

Write daily or once a week. Use a pencil, pen, or eyeliner for all I care. I hear all the cool kids are going digital these days.

Speaking of, I’m now on Twitter @edinPON!  Find me here, there, everywhere!

 

Author: pursuitofnatural

I'm a natural black chick in the USA who loves to laugh, write, and help others. So, I created The Pursuit of Natural, a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural

Leave a Reply

