Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

Tightrope and Tension

Leave a comment

monaelol2

So, there I was getting my Janelle Monáe on, when a stab of pain hit me right in the pompadour. I knew I was working with old hair but The Itch could not be that bad already.

Maybe dry scalp? An infected micro-cut from scratching? I even tried spot cleaning but the pain came right back.

Finally, I took down my updo, and my scalp said, “What were you thinking?”

I was thinking my length at the time was just enough to get creative like the Electric Lady. Maybe. Sort of. If I pulled it in well-well and pinned it down in a hundred-and-one places. Bad idea. We all know tension is the enemy of edges, but on a tender head tension anywhere can be a literal headache.

Me and slack became best friends after that. I love a style that’s laid and slayed, but I gotta keep my balance. So, I incorporate volume into my ‘dos to give sleekness a rest, and I think twice before triple-tying or giving my stocking just one more tug around my puff. I also treat myself to a scalp massage once in a while, especially when I’m wearing a style that stays put and my roots get stiff.

You might also find that, like mine, your sensitive scalp abhors the feel of bobby pins poking or even slightly rubbing against it. I try to carefully insert the pin raised away from the scalp to avoid such irritations. If I can feel it sliding in, it’s too close.

So, mini-Monáe (pictured above) didn’t last the day, but I learned to be a bit more conscious about walking that line between haute hairstyles and a happy head.

What are your scalp sensitivities and tips for dealing with them? Feel free to share–and find me @edinPON on Twitter where I mostly share the work of others in the community and anything else that strikes my fancy.

Author: pursuitofnatural

I'm a natural black chick in the USA who loves to laugh, write, and help others. So, I created The Pursuit of Natural, a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural

Leave a Reply

