Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

The Puff is the Real MVP

3 Comments

How clutch is the puff? Gather-it-on-top-of-your-head-and-go clutch. It goes high and low, and can salvage most bad hair days. You just cannot go wrong with an afro puff.

Or so I thought. In my 2nd year natural, I got my life with that cute and sporty  baby puff, but then something strange happened in my 3rd year. While most of my hair stayed in formation, the crown exploded into an overgrown bush that even water and shrinkage couldn’t tame. I could pick and tug and pat forever, and my puff would still topple over in front, making the back look flat and the whole style far from round, let alone uniform.

#mixTexProblems

Just when I was about ready to bench my star player, I switched up my technique and put a new spring in my coils. Like I wrote in the previous article, installing curls gives me more control over my style, targeting shrinkage or hangtime where my hair needs it. So, now I exclusively rock bantu puffs and roller set puffs. It’s one extra step, but I can still gather-and-go in the morning.

For the curious, I use an old black stocking to tie it up, and at night I pineapple with a scarf. When it’s time to remoisturize, usually on day 3, I just put it all away in a protective style instead of fighting with reversion. That’s the best part of my curly puffs; my hair is already stretched and ready to transition to a different style. With full shrinkage, I’d be battling knots and dreading the detangle…and putting it off only to compound the issue. (Y’all know how it is.)

When I’m not in protective styles, the puff is my go-to. Dressed up or dressed casual, it is versatile and hard screw up.

What’s your favorite “out” style? Chime in below or catch me on Twitter @edinPON.

Author: pursuitofnatural

Edin is a natural black chick in the USA who loves to laugh, write, and help others. So, she created The Pursuit of Natural, a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural

3 thoughts on “The Puff is the Real MVP

  1. The puff is a go to for me as well. But with the thickness of my hair I always have to stretch it out first.

    Like

  2. Yes. Without stretching if I did my whole puff I can bank on a migraine by noon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

