Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

Transitional Styling

3 Comments

 

thelastsection3

Not to be confused with transition styles, which blend your textures when you are growing your natural hair but still have relaxed ends. I’m talking about how I take my hair from one state to the next, through the week and towards wash day with less mechanical damage. To that end, it does not include extensive re-twisting or resetting.

These days, I’m all about those cornrows and low buns, so the only transitioning I do is from post-wash twists or rollerset (to stretch my hair while it dries) to my long term style. But when I’m rocking my hair out, transitional styling helps minimize the inevitable wear on my fro by keeping it stretched while reducing the amount of time I have my hands in my hair.

I would start with stretched free hair for about two days, which is how long my stretched puffs last before looking tired. Then, I’d transition to a full or partial protective style that did not require too much sectioning or strand separation, because those are the top two ways I experience breakage. Halo twists and buns are my go-to for this reason. I’m either gathering my hair or doing one part down the middle. Finally, I’d go into a prep state the day before wash day. Each stage is an opportunity to lightly re-moisturize and lightly remove tangles and shed hair, but this last stage is where I would do a proper breakdown before putting my hair into twists to facilitate a tangle-free and organized wash process.

The goal, for me, is to be mindful of every point of contact with my hair. How many times a week am I messing with it? How many times in one styling session am I re-arranging and re-pinning? When it starts to fro out in my hands, I know I’m doing way too much. Having your hands in your hair doesn’t need to be a major production. If you’re on a length retention regimen but still want to show it off once in a while, keep it simple and let it thrive.

Quick shoutout to @Kimmaytube, who also has good weekly regimens with similar concepts.

Do you wear your hair out currently? How do you style it through the week? Comment below, and if you enjoy The Pursuit, like, share, and follow me here and @edinPON.

 

 

 

Author: pursuitofnatural

Edin is a natural black chick in the USA who loves to laugh, write, and help others. So, she created The Pursuit of Natural, a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural

3 thoughts on “Transitional Styling

  1. Oh dear. It’s been a long time I did anything really with my hair. I just sadly move from ps to ps with barely a day’s gap in between (usually to wash the hair). I’d say I have the barest minimum time for the hair because of my job, but even I know that’s not true.

    On good hair seasons for me (I’ve been natural for close to 3yrs), I usually love to keep it on twists. Asides from loving the curl appearance, I kind of love the way it teases people. People get confused and go guessing whether it’s real hair or a weave. My second fav style is the high bun. Not because it’s a lazy style (is it?) but I love the outlook. Sometimes I spend lots of time working it out

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, those hair seasons! I go through periods of back to back protective styles, as well. Sometimes you just need to focus on other things, you know? The good thing is when you are finally ready to rock it out, you’ll have all this healthy length to play with.

      I know exactly what you mean about buns. They are simpler but they definitely take effort to make it look elegant and chic, not struggly. I only wish my bun was bigger!

      Thanks for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Is This a Good Time or Nah? | Pursuit of Natural

Leave a Reply

