Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

Is This a Good Time or Nah?

1 Comment

washday1

When my scalp is unhappy, my roots are unhappy, I’m unhappy. I’m walking around with frizzy, dirty hair and a ton of takedown work the longer the task is delayed.

If you’re one of those women who can clear a whole day and fend off all interlopers, you are wash day goals. I haven’t been able to keep a strict schedule, though with my current protective styling regimen it has improved. If I see an opportunity–several free hours or a half-day–I take it.  But, when my wash day unexpectedly becomes jam packed, I have to ask myself: is this a good time? Most often, I do not even try it.

I don’t know about you, but when I need to do my hair but can barely fit in the time, I get into a bad mood. This is not the best frame of mind when I finally do get to my hair. I’m not as gentle or patient as I should be. Cut corners, break strands.

Instead of punishing my hair, I find a way to freshen my look or cover up my situation until I can properly devote some TLC to my fro. I re-do the perimeter of my head if it’s in twists or braids, or wear a bandana or headband to hide those puffy roots.

When the situation calls for it, I will break up the process into manageable chunks. Once, I was forced to prepoo undercover (h/t @OlenaRosanne) for a day. Another week, I had to detangle my hair over four days, there was so little time. I styled in twists to camouflage that I was in the middle of a prolonged pre-wash takedown session.

Sometimes, you gotta do what you gotta do, because leaving your hair neglected for too long is not an option, but attending to it in a bad mood when you’re pressed for time isn’t any better. I aspire to @kimmaytube hair “spa” days, but until then, I have to be mindful about transitioning the state of my hair throughout the week and be strategic with the multiple tasks that make up my sometimes not-so-relaxing wash days.

And if you’re scratching your head at all this ado about washing hair, don’t worry. Next week, I’ll break down why wash day looms large for this natural and many other naturals as well. Like, share, and follow me here and @edinPON to stay up to date on all new content!

 

 

Author: pursuitofnatural

Edin is a natural black chick in the USA who loves to laugh, write, and help others. So, she created The Pursuit of Natural, a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural

One thought on “Is This a Good Time or Nah?

  1. Pingback: Much Ado About Wash Day | Pursuit of Natural

Leave a Reply

