Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

Mini Hair Vaycays

Leave a comment

 

hairvaycayTHUMB

Full-sized wallpaper coming soon!

 

Sometimes I don’t realize just how much hair I have on my head until it’s time to take it down for a break down session. Girl. It is a blessing & a time sink.

So, then I think, “Ah! I’ll just put it all away in an fancy protective style!” and soon remember that, too, is a blessing and a major time sink.

There is a happy middle, which I like to call the mini hair vaycay. I just put away some, not all, of my hair for a few weeks. It’s faster than installing the protective style on my whole head, and with less free hair, it shaves off time from my regular styling and maintenance.

I did this with the sides of my head, AKA my struggle areas. Installing mini twists took no time at all and lasted weeks. My daily sessions went by much quicker, since I didn’t have to slowly, gently, meticulously detangle those fragile sides.

If you want to try a mini hair vaycay, you do have to be strategic about which part of your hair to put away, so that you can have multiple styling options or cover up the protected areas, if needed. For example, the mini-twists on the sides of my head can be shown off with an updo, or I can cover them up with a middle part and a bun or ponytail. I can even still incorporate the mini twists into a larger halo twist. When I do a mini hair vaycay for the back of my head, however, like flat-twisting up towards my crown, I am stuck with high puffs and high buns for the duration.

With all this extra free time on your mini hair vaycay, you can get lulled into laziness. Taking a break from your hair doesn’t mean taking a break from proper care. I never wear any long-term protective style past one month, because dirt will build up–even if I’m diligent–and buildup causes matting, knots, and tangles. As always, you must stay on your moisture game. There’s nothing worse than coming out of a protective style with damage you didn’t have going into it.

 

What’s your favorite way to take a break from your hair? How long do your hair vaycays last? Share in the comments!

If you’re a fan of The Pursuit, subscribe and stay in touch! Follow me here and on Twitter @edinPON. ICYMI, you can find the latest “Dear Newly Natural Me” letter here.

 

Author: pursuitofnatural

Edin is a natural black chick in the USA who loves to laugh, write, and help others. So, she created The Pursuit of Natural, a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural

Leave a Reply

