Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

Finger Detangling

10 Comments

hairmazeTHUMB

Some people do it in the shower. Some people do it with oil. Some people use tools such as combs or brushes. I’m talking about detangling natural hair, and everyone’s got their own technique as well as favorite products for the job.

Many naturals, though, swear by finger detangling. But when I started doing it, I just wanted to swear at someone. How were they all just gliding their hands through all those kinks and curls? And then they had the nerve to say it only took forty-five minutes, tops! I’d give up and grab my comb, but as my hair got longer, I had to face the music.

It took hours to finger detangle. My shoulders hurt. My neck hurt. I couldn’t keep organized, and my hair still felt tangled in places. Needless to say, it took a long time to tailor all the internet advice to my own technique, and I’m still improving upon it years later.

First things first: I must work in sections. It keeps me organized, and it keeps me from being overwhelmed.

Secondly, I discovered it was better to work on my most fragile areas first. I’m much gentler and more patient at the start of a session than when I’ve been at it for an hour and just want to be done. I do my least tangly textures last because they won’t break as easily if I get tired and speed it up a little.

Much, much later I got the mechanical motions down–how I hold my hands to be gentle yet thorough in removing shed hairs, how to flatten and separate strands between my fingertips, and how to incorporate the harp method.

Later still, I found Urban Bush Babes and gave up going over the ends first in favor of starting from the roots. I then traded in raking for criss-cross parting, going horizontally followed by vertically. Once the grid is complete, I move on to the next section.

Finger detangling does not come naturally. It takes practice, a lot of diligence, and quite a bit of mental cursing. But getting mad at my hair was not an option, and I am stubborn when it comes to mastering a new skill.

How about you all? Are you still working on your detangling skills? How long did it take you to get the hang of it? Share in the comments. For even more detangling tips, check out my Dear Newly Natural Me letter, “Let It (Combs) Go”.

If you’re a fan of The Pursuit, subscribe! Like this post, share with your friends, and follow me @edinPON.

Author: pursuitofnatural

Edin is a natural black chick in the USA who loves to laugh, write, and help others. So, she created The Pursuit of Natural, a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural

10 thoughts on “Finger Detangling

  1. when it comes to untangling my hair its like i’m facing a dragon lol…..the only thing that helps is if my hair is damp and i have a proper big teeth comb, that whole finger detangling crap only makes my head tender and fingers hurt

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hear ya. We have to do what works and stick with what makes the process easier.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a newly loc’d natural partly because of the detangling. I would always wear my hair in a rolled or flat-twisted halo in order to keep my hair all in the same direction so that detangling would be easier. Obviously this limited my style options. So I just loc’d my hair to avoid detangling all together. I always say that I still have “detangle anxiety” when I’m about to wash my hair because I procrastinate. But I don’t have to detangle anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That featured image is pretty Awesome! Super creative.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

