Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

Preserving My Edges

5 Comments

preserveTHUMB

 

Growing my edges in and keeping them in are two related but distinct challenges.

Oil treatments and scalp massages are great and all, but when life is physically snatching my edges, I have to take more drastic measures. If you guessed the solution involves protective styling, you know me too well.

Two flat twists along my forehead are all it takes to protect my edges from friction and everyday wear. They are quick and easy to install, takedown, and redo if necessary. There is a twist:

You may have seen this two flat twists in front style before, and if you’re like me, you may have disliked the visible part. Just one single, big ol’ line on the front your head, looking odd. You could cover it up if you wear your hair out, but I wear my hair pulled back and bound 99% of the time.

One remedy is to wear a headband or tie a scarf over the part (it’s also how you conceal puffy roots on old hair.) My main method, though, is to not use straight parts.

I don’t mean crooked, with hairs criss-crossing everywhere. I mean I use an angle part.

 

edgespicsIMG

See the difference in the photo? One line is easily overlapped by and covered with a middle part and the other peeks out the more tautly I pull back my hair.

With the angled part, I have even been able to do a halo twist over it and the parts remain hidden. This way of twisting my edges puts less stress on those really short hairs I’m trying to preserve, because I’m primarily reinforcing with the longer hairs just behind them to make up the bulk of the twist. Angle parting also works magic on my twist outs but that’s a post for another day.

 

How are your edges doing? Do you have any neat little hair hacks? Share below in the comments. And if you’re a fan of The Pursuit, subscribe! Like this post, share with your friends, and follow me @edinPON.

 

Author: pursuitofnatural

I'm a natural black chick in the USA who loves to laugh, write, and help others. So, I created The Pursuit of Natural, a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural

5 thoughts on “Preserving My Edges

  1. This is great! I use the same flat twist method along the perimeter of my head when I am wearing my protective style! I still have trouble with my hair at the back of my neck. I’m trying to make sure I keep my hair moisturized! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for reading! I’m pulling on those nape hairs as I type this. I find keeping my hair under wraps helps somewhat, but after wearing my hair exposed for two days, they definitely need remoisturizing. The heat and humidity here is no joke.

    Like

  3. My edges are doing just fine, I use castor oil, coconut oil or onion juice when it starts thinning out. Please check out my blog too, https://doingitnaturalblog.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

