Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

The Tilt of my Crown Twist

3 Comments

crowntiltTHUMB

Looking back on my old pics, I noticed the tilt of my crown twist changed over time, I thought about why that was.

My first crown twist could just barely secure the hairs from the top of my head, they were so short. Even then, I’d have to use a bunch of bobby pins to keep everything in place. My twist sat far above my ears and halfway up the back of my head. Then one day I could twist around the very perimeter of my head without cutting across the back and sides.

I got to thinking about how my styles evolve with length. Installing mini twists take longer but they look better when worn down. My two strand twists got hangtime, and my twistouts look fuller.

Flat twists used to spring free in revolt, but with length they held fast. My puff used to stand neat and round, and then it grew wild and floppy.

Some styles improve with length, others lose their appeal and I have to find new looks. That’s the beauty of the journey. I’m loving the evolution, the versatility of my natural hair.

Are you enjoying your length? (If not, my Dear Newly Natural Me letters are for you!) Comment below and like this post. If you’re a fan of The Pursuit, subscribe and follow me @edinPON.

Author: pursuitofnatural

Edin is a natural black chick in the USA who loves to laugh, write, and help others. So, she created The Pursuit of Natural, a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural

3 thoughts on “The Tilt of my Crown Twist

Leave a Reply

