Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

That Time I Used Body Wash on My Hair

6 Comments

hairNightmareTHUMB

Girl, what? What had happened was…

I had my protective style take down all planned out: replenish my product stash as I was running low on everything, detangle, prepoo overnight, and then the next day wash and set.

So, I take out my protective style, douse my hair in coconut oil, detangle, and sleep in a shower cap. Next day, I get an early start, hop in the shower and WHERE THE HECK IS MY SHAMPOO?!

I didn’t buy any. Got all the extra ingredients that went into that DIY deep conditioner but totally and completely forgot to buy shampoo. I’m standing in the shower wondering what I’m going to do with a head full of coconut oil–that stuff won’t come out with conditioner. Sometimes it even takes a second wash to get rid of all the build up.

I stared at my body wash.

And stared.

Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad. I’d go HAM with my regular conditioner afterwards, just to be safe.

Yoooo. My hair has never been so furious with me. It was so stripped. So rough. No amount of conditioner could’ve appeased my fro. It took two weeks to fully recover.

I stock up on conditioner and shampoo now.

The end.

 

Have you ever done something stupid to your hair when you knew better? Spill it in the comments! If you liked this post, then “like” this post. Subscribe and follow me @edinPON

Author: pursuitofnatural

Edin is a natural black chick in the USA who loves to laugh, write, and help others. So, she created The Pursuit of Natural, a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural

6 thoughts on “That Time I Used Body Wash on My Hair

  1. I did a DIY banana and honey hair mask but didn’t blend up the bananas as much as I should’ve. I washed out the mask and there were little banana pieces all throughout my hair!!! I was tripping because I didn’t know how to get it out and I know washing it again wouldn’t really help. Then my hubby said “why don’t you just comb it out?” And I’m like hmm lemme try it and it actually did work! I had to go section by section combing out all the banana pieces! I will never do hair mask with bananas again!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Giiiirl let me tell you..lol. Ok so I thought I was going to have the best hair ever by doing a deep conditioner with yogurt, banana, and honey. So apparently I did not mix well enough. It took like 4 washes and brushing through my hair for what seemed like forever to get the banana chunks out my hair. I was seriously panicking. Never again!😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

