Pursuit of Natural

life, levity, & the pursuit of natural

Banding

10 Comments

bandingpic2

I’d heard good things about banding your hair to stretch it. Here’s why it’s a no go for me.

What’s Good

It really stretched my hair way more than my normal two-strand twists. I was actually astonished at my length. Installing the bands was quick and uncomplicated and I could do larger sections. Of course, not having to use heat is always a plus.

How to Do It

Some people use multiple hair ties along the length of the section. I decided to cut up my favorite t-shirt into strips long enough to do the job. (The t-shirt had been ruined prior to that, of course.)

Starting at the root, grip one end of the band and the section of hair together, then start wrapping the free end of the band all the way down the section. It’s really simple. When I got to the end, I just tied it off onto itself. It took a bit longer to dry but was overall comfortable to wear.

bandingcollage1

The Disastrous Takedown

I wanted to stretch my hair using the banding method so that I could flat iron without blow drying and raking a comb attachment through it. I thought!

My hair was matted, so I had to spend an extra two hours combing it anyways. With so many hairs fused together, my patience was running thin and my temper running high. I thought it was because I didn’t have any product in my hair, so I tried again at a later date with my regular products. It was only marginally better but there was still matting.

So banding is a no go for me, but that’s how it is on this natural hair journey. It’s all about the trial and error. Let me know in the comments about your trials and errors. Have you discovered any methods that left you pleasantly surprised at how well they worked?

If you like this post, please take a second to “like” this post. Share, subscribe, and follow me on my other platforms via the sidebar.

 

Author: pursuitofnatural

I'm an illustrator! The Pursuit of Natural started as a blog on the hijinks, lowjinks, and lessons learned from going natural, and it's my home base for all things art, natural hair, and more.

10 thoughts on “Banding

  1. Giiiiirl! Your hair is gorgeous! So long & lovely! Sorry the banding method did not work for you. I’ve tried African threading & it was alright, I was pleased with the results.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m yet to try the banding method, I always thought is a lot of work. I’m now scared to try it out. Lol. Sorry you lost some hair. You won’t regret trying African threading.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve seen it more commonly done with individual hair ties placed along the length of the hair, so maube that makes a difference. Though, I can’t see how that would prevent my hair from shrinking up in the spaces between, resulting in an uneven texture. If you do give it a try, let us know how it worked.

      Like

  3. The science behind natural hair care, and how it varies person to person, really seems to affect what can and can’t work for the individual. Fascinating. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think the matting reduces if you band in smaller sections and thoroughly detangle your hair with a comb before you start banding.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.